Ms. Sarah’s favorite Christmas memory

My favorite Christmastime memory isn’t directly related to the holiday.  It is one of my favorite memories of all time, though.

When I was 3 and 4 years old, one of my best friends from preschool lived across the street.  Todd and I would play together and eat lunch at each other’s houses.

When we were both four, he moved away.  My mom tried to make it easier on me by having a big picnic for Todd’s family and the movers on our front lawn.

The Christmas after that came and went.  My mom was at Toys R Us returning some gifts when who did she see in line but Todd’s mom!  They had come back to town to visit Todd’s grandparents.  They made plans to bring him over for a playdate.

That night, it snowed.  It was the kind of perfect packing snow you only get sometimes.  Of course, Todd and I decided to build a snowman.  But it wasn’t just us– my brother, my dad, and Mowann and his brothers from next door all joined in and built something much bigger than a couple of four-year-olds could have done alone.  We had the best time you can imagine.

I was super excited about being able to play with Todd.  After all, we had thought that we might not see each other again.  But the other reason that this is such a strong memory for me is that my dad was having just as much fun as we were.  He was a doctor (he’s retired now) and didn’t get a lot of time to play.  Christmas was also hard for him because he had sad memories of losing his own dad.  That day we were all happy, playing in the snow.

Leave a Reply

