Category Archives: Read-alikes

Yes, it’s OK to read audiobooks!

24501857023_f3dd8c86e7_z

Did you know you can count listening to audiobooks for the Summer Adventure? If you find yourself hesitating, the article Audiobooks Are Not Cheating (FREE poster offer) | Books on Tape has some great arguments in favor of recorded books. My favorite reason is that you can listen to a book in the car without getting a headache (the way you would reading with your eyes).

If you want to check out audiobooks from the library, you have a couple of options. We have books on CD (pretty self-explanatory), Playaways (those things in the orange boxes), and downloadable audiobooks.

Playaways are a little like having an iPod with something already downloaded on it. These are getting popular because not everyone owns something to play CDs on anymore. All you need to do is stick in your headphones and press play. Alternatively, you can use a cable to connect a Playaway to a car stereo so that everyone can listen to it together. The Findaway World company has details here: playaway-cars

Another option that you might not notice if you’re just looking at our shelves is downloadable audiobooks. The Digital Collection page of our website lists the different options for downloading audiobooks. At the bottom of the page, you can find help pages for the different apps and some guides to device compatibility.

Need a recommendation for a good audiobook? There are awards especially for audiobooks, like the Odyssey Award (for titles for children and young adults) and the Audies (for books for adults, children, and teens). The Association for Library Service to Children also puts out of yearly list of Notable Children’s Recordings, which includes both audiobooks and music (lists from past years are also available).

If you like this, try that

allw
We’re All Wonders is the newest book by R.J. Palacio that features Auggie, the protagonist of Wonder. Unlike the previous books about Auggie and his classmates, this one is a picture book about the boy and his dog, Daisy.

Fans of R.J. Palacio’s books may also enjoy The Junkyard Wonders by Patricia Polacco.
jwonders
Inspired by a teacher who believes each of them is a genius, a class of special-needs students invents something that could convince the whole school they are justifiably proud to be “Junkyard Wonders.” Patricia Polacco is known for stories (sometimes based on her own life, like this one) that are in a picture book format but appeal to older children.

Save

Hey, Rick Riordan fans!

Are you waiting for your copy of The Dark Prophecy?  Did you know Rick Riordan has another new book you can read while you’re waiting? We have copies of Camp Half-Blood Confidential on the shelf for you to check out right now, featuring short stories and interviews with the characters. We can also help you put a hold on the book or one of our NOOKs so you can read it as soon as possible!

Foxes are the new owls

Ever since the popular chapter book Pax was published, we’ve been seeing lots of books about foxes!  Here are some new picture books and nonfiction titles:

alle
All Ears, All Eyes
by Richard Jackson; illustrated by Katherine Tillotson
As darkness falls in the forest, animals hoot, chirp, whirr, and bark, lulling drowsy children to sleep.

ffox
Faraway Fox
by Jolene Thompson illustrated by Justin K. Thompson
A lonely fox roams the forest where he grew up, searching for his family and finding only strange creatures who stand on their hind legs, until, at last, he finds himself at home.

htff
How to Find a Fox
by Nilah Magruder
Equipped with a camera and determination, an adventurous little girl tries to track down an elusive red fox, which proves more difficult than she thought.

lff
Little Fox in the Forest
by Stephanie Graegin
A wordless picture book in which two friends follow a young fox deep into the woods and discover a wondrous and magical world.

pdora
Pandora
by Victoria Turnbull
Pandora the fox lives alone in a junk yard. She’s depressed and has no contact with the outside world. Then, she rescues a blue bird. As she nurses him back to health, the bird collects seeds and trinkets for her. One day, the bird grows strong enough to fly away, but the garden seeds he brought begin to transform Pandora’s landscape.

wsong
Watersong
by Tim McCanna; illustrated by Richard Smythe
A fox’s journey to take shelter from a rainstorm, told entirely in onomatopoeia.

slrf
The Secret Life of the Red Fox by Laurence Pringle; illustrated by Kate Garchinsky
The life of a red fox is a mystery to most people. You might catch a glimpse of blazing red fur or hear a far-off bard, but the fox‘s daily activities are know to few. Filled with fascinating facts and illuminating details, this nonfiction book invites readers on a yearlong journey with a red fox named Vixen.

sandt
Sniffer and Tinni: A True Tale of Amazing Animal Friendship
by Berit Helberg; photography by Torgeir Berge
A fox and a German Shepherd living in a small Norwegian town become best friends.

Rescue Cats

Did you know that two Fountaindale librarians volunteer at the animal shelter, taking care of cats? Here are some new stories about rescuing and bringing home cats and kittens.

bclc
Big Cat, Little Cat by Elisha Cooper
A moving tale about friendship, new beginnings, and cats.

swan
A Cat Named Swan by Holly Hobbie
After surviving on the streets, a homeless cat discovers the joys of living with a human family.

cbus
Cat on the Bus by Aram Kim
Using onomatopoeia, this almost wordless story tells of a homeless cat who finds shelter on a bus where she meets a cat-loving Asian grandfather.

lnc
Little Night Cat by Sonja Danowski
When Tony, a little boy, bravely offers his stuffed animals–including his favorite toy cat–to the animal shelter to raise money for the needy dogs and cats, it touches his mom’s heart. Later that night when Tony misses his toy, she gives him her old stuffed cat. He embraces it with such care and devotion that his mom rewards him in a way that he never imagines.

lcat
Lola Gets a Cat by Anna McQuinn; illustrated by Rosalind Beardshaw
More than anything Lola would like a cat, but first she must learn how to care for it.

lfc
Lost and Found Cat: The True Story of Kunkush’s Incredible Journey by Doug Kuntz and Amy Shrodes; illustrated by Sue Cornelison
A family of refugees is accidentally separated from, and then reunited with, their pet cat.

A girl named Miranda

“I was named after a criminal.  Mom says that’s a dramatic way of looking at things, but sometimes the truth is dramatic.

“‘The name Miranda stands for people’s rights,’ she said last fall, when I was upset because Robbie B. had told me during gym that I was named after a kidnapper.”

-from When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead

wyrm

When I saw that today was going to be the 50th anniversary of the Miranda Decision, I thought it would be a good opportunity to highlight this excellent and unusual book.

It’s a hard title to describe, especially without giving away too much.  It’s narrated by a girl who loves A Wrinkle in Time. It’s a story about middle school and friendship and New York City (I was surprised to see it recommended for fans of Wonder, but when you think of if that way it makes sense).  There are some very strange things happening– not just Miranda’s mom getting ready to be on a game show, or a boy punching her best friend for no reason– but mysterious and anonymous notes in strange places.

This title is available as an audiobook (Playaway, CD, and download) as well as a regular print book, large print book, and downloadable ebook.

 

For Lent: 3 new books about monks

brog
Brother Giovanni’s Little Reward: How the Pretzel was Born by Anna Egan Smucker; illustrated by Amanda Hall
My mom told me a variation of this story when she showed me how to make pretzels as a kid.  Brother Giovanni, the baker at the monastery, is trying to get a bunch of rambunctious children to learn their prayers.  If you try the recipe at the end of the book, you’ll see why the smell of fresh-baked pretzels is such a great motivator!

broh
Brother Hugo and the Bear by Katy Beebe; illustrated by S. D. Schindler
If a bear ate your library book, you might find it pretty hilarious.  Brother Hugo was maybe a bit too much of a wise guy when he reported the loss to his abbot, so he’s assigned the penance of replacing the book– from scratch.  The notes at the end of the book say that it was inspired by actual events.

brocat
The White Cat and the Monk: A Retelling of the Poem “Pangur Bán” by JoEllen Bogart; illustrated by Sydney Smith
Ms. Wendy told me about the poem “Pangur Bán” when we were discussing the movie The Secret of Kells (which features a cat by the same name, and some Irish monks, and some magic).  It’s a poem written long ago by a monk, comparing his own work seeking knowledge in books to his cat hunting mice.  The book won’t be released until mid-March, but this blog gives you a sneak peek at the illustrations.  Pangur Bán’s name refers to his white fur, and I like that the artist chose to give the monk petting the cat white hair, too.