Category Archives: Read-alikes

Mrs. C.’s Best of the Best Reading List

maylist

Do you need something to read? Start your summer reading with Mrs. C.’s list of favorite books that she’s shared at local schools this year! Don’t forget, you can also find lots of cookbooks by looking under the number 641.

Friendship dolls in the library

Miss_Shimane_1 dollsofwar
Dolls of War by Shirley Parenteau just arrived at the library, a continuation of the story of the Friendship Dolls that started with Ship of Dolls and Dolls of Hope. The dolls were exchanged between Japan and the USA in the 1920s.

Kirby Larson also wrote about this exchange in The Friendship Doll. Seeing this book prompted a librarian in Minnesota to rediscover one of these dolls in the library’s collection (If you follow the link, there are photos of the doll Miss Miyazaki before and after her restoration).

You can also read about Miss Shimane (pictured above and to the left) at the Indianapolis Public Library’s Digital Indy website and take a closer look at the collection of miniature objects that traveled with her.

New children’s books in Polish

 

We have new picture books in Polish to go with Rodzinne Czytanie Bajeczek po Polsku our new Family Storytime in Polish. Click the pictures for a list of new books!

More books like Wonder

wonderscrop

If you’re waiting for a copy of Wonder (or want to know what to read next), click on the picture above for a list of suggested read-alikes.

Strongmen

This month marks 100 years since Charles Atlas was born. In his honor, here are some stories about strongmen.

catlas
The Story of Charles Atlas, Strong Man by Meghan McCarthy
Although he grew into a giant amongst men with awe-inspiring strength and power, Charles Atlas started out as a weakling who was bullied by the neighborhood kids, yet with a fitness regime and good eating habits, Atlas successfully transformed himself into “The World’s Most Perfectly Developed Man.”

greata
The Great Antonio by Elsie Gravel
What made the Great Antonio so great? He weighed as much as a horse! He once wrestled a bear. He could devour twenty-five roasted chickens at one sitting. In this whimsical book, beloved author and illustrator Elise Gravel tells the true story of Antonio Barichievich, the larger-than-life Montreal strongman who had muscles as big as his heart.

strongas
Strong as Sandow: How Eugen Sandow became the strongest man on earth by Don Tate
Introduces the life of Eugen Sandow, including his sickly childhood in Prussia, his defeat of strongmen Sampson and Cyclops, and his founding of the Great Competition in 1901.

Yes, it’s OK to read audiobooks!

24501857023_f3dd8c86e7_z

Did you know you can count listening to audiobooks for the Summer Adventure? If you find yourself hesitating, the article Audiobooks Are Not Cheating (FREE poster offer) | Books on Tape has some great arguments in favor of recorded books. My favorite reason is that you can listen to a book in the car without getting a headache (the way you would reading with your eyes).

If you want to check out audiobooks from the library, you have a couple of options. We have books on CD (pretty self-explanatory), Playaways (those things in the orange boxes), and downloadable audiobooks.

Playaways are a little like having an iPod with something already downloaded on it. These are getting popular because not everyone owns something to play CDs on anymore. All you need to do is stick in your headphones and press play. Alternatively, you can use a cable to connect a Playaway to a car stereo so that everyone can listen to it together. The Findaway World company has details here: playaway-cars

Another option that you might not notice if you’re just looking at our shelves is downloadable audiobooks. The Digital Collection page of our website lists the different options for downloading audiobooks. At the bottom of the page, you can find help pages for the different apps and some guides to device compatibility.

Need a recommendation for a good audiobook? There are awards especially for audiobooks, like the Odyssey Award (for titles for children and young adults) and the Audies (for books for adults, children, and teens). The Association for Library Service to Children also puts out of yearly list of Notable Children’s Recordings, which includes both audiobooks and music (lists from past years are also available).

If you like this, try that

allw
We’re All Wonders is the newest book by R.J. Palacio that features Auggie, the protagonist of Wonder. Unlike the previous books about Auggie and his classmates, this one is a picture book about the boy and his dog, Daisy.

Fans of R.J. Palacio’s books may also enjoy The Junkyard Wonders by Patricia Polacco.
jwonders
Inspired by a teacher who believes each of them is a genius, a class of special-needs students invents something that could convince the whole school they are justifiably proud to be “Junkyard Wonders.” Patricia Polacco is known for stories (sometimes based on her own life, like this one) that are in a picture book format but appeal to older children.

Save