Category Archives: Read-alikes

More books like Wonder

wonderscrop

If you’re waiting for a copy of Wonder (or want to know what to read next), click on the picture above for a list of suggested read-alikes.

Strongmen

This month marks 100 years since Charles Atlas was born. In his honor, here are some stories about strongmen.

catlas
The Story of Charles Atlas, Strong Man by Meghan McCarthy
Although he grew into a giant amongst men with awe-inspiring strength and power, Charles Atlas started out as a weakling who was bullied by the neighborhood kids, yet with a fitness regime and good eating habits, Atlas successfully transformed himself into “The World’s Most Perfectly Developed Man.”

greata
The Great Antonio by Elsie Gravel
What made the Great Antonio so great? He weighed as much as a horse! He once wrestled a bear. He could devour twenty-five roasted chickens at one sitting. In this whimsical book, beloved author and illustrator Elise Gravel tells the true story of Antonio Barichievich, the larger-than-life Montreal strongman who had muscles as big as his heart.

strongas
Strong as Sandow: How Eugen Sandow became the strongest man on earth by Don Tate
Introduces the life of Eugen Sandow, including his sickly childhood in Prussia, his defeat of strongmen Sampson and Cyclops, and his founding of the Great Competition in 1901.

Yes, it’s OK to read audiobooks!

24501857023_f3dd8c86e7_z

Did you know you can count listening to audiobooks for the Summer Adventure? If you find yourself hesitating, the article Audiobooks Are Not Cheating (FREE poster offer) | Books on Tape has some great arguments in favor of recorded books. My favorite reason is that you can listen to a book in the car without getting a headache (the way you would reading with your eyes).

If you want to check out audiobooks from the library, you have a couple of options. We have books on CD (pretty self-explanatory), Playaways (those things in the orange boxes), and downloadable audiobooks.

Playaways are a little like having an iPod with something already downloaded on it. These are getting popular because not everyone owns something to play CDs on anymore. All you need to do is stick in your headphones and press play. Alternatively, you can use a cable to connect a Playaway to a car stereo so that everyone can listen to it together. The Findaway World company has details here: playaway-cars

Another option that you might not notice if you’re just looking at our shelves is downloadable audiobooks. The Digital Collection page of our website lists the different options for downloading audiobooks. At the bottom of the page, you can find help pages for the different apps and some guides to device compatibility.

Need a recommendation for a good audiobook? There are awards especially for audiobooks, like the Odyssey Award (for titles for children and young adults) and the Audies (for books for adults, children, and teens). The Association for Library Service to Children also puts out of yearly list of Notable Children’s Recordings, which includes both audiobooks and music (lists from past years are also available).

If you like this, try that

allw
We’re All Wonders is the newest book by R.J. Palacio that features Auggie, the protagonist of Wonder. Unlike the previous books about Auggie and his classmates, this one is a picture book about the boy and his dog, Daisy.

Fans of R.J. Palacio’s books may also enjoy The Junkyard Wonders by Patricia Polacco.
jwonders
Inspired by a teacher who believes each of them is a genius, a class of special-needs students invents something that could convince the whole school they are justifiably proud to be “Junkyard Wonders.” Patricia Polacco is known for stories (sometimes based on her own life, like this one) that are in a picture book format but appeal to older children.

Save

Hey, Rick Riordan fans!

Are you waiting for your copy of The Dark Prophecy?  Did you know Rick Riordan has another new book you can read while you’re waiting? We have copies of Camp Half-Blood Confidential on the shelf for you to check out right now, featuring short stories and interviews with the characters. We can also help you put a hold on the book or one of our NOOKs so you can read it as soon as possible!

Foxes are the new owls

Ever since the popular chapter book Pax was published, we’ve been seeing lots of books about foxes!  Here are some new picture books and nonfiction titles:

alle
All Ears, All Eyes
by Richard Jackson; illustrated by Katherine Tillotson
As darkness falls in the forest, animals hoot, chirp, whirr, and bark, lulling drowsy children to sleep.

ffox
Faraway Fox
by Jolene Thompson illustrated by Justin K. Thompson
A lonely fox roams the forest where he grew up, searching for his family and finding only strange creatures who stand on their hind legs, until, at last, he finds himself at home.

htff
How to Find a Fox
by Nilah Magruder
Equipped with a camera and determination, an adventurous little girl tries to track down an elusive red fox, which proves more difficult than she thought.

lff
Little Fox in the Forest
by Stephanie Graegin
A wordless picture book in which two friends follow a young fox deep into the woods and discover a wondrous and magical world.

pdora
Pandora
by Victoria Turnbull
Pandora the fox lives alone in a junk yard. She’s depressed and has no contact with the outside world. Then, she rescues a blue bird. As she nurses him back to health, the bird collects seeds and trinkets for her. One day, the bird grows strong enough to fly away, but the garden seeds he brought begin to transform Pandora’s landscape.

wsong
Watersong
by Tim McCanna; illustrated by Richard Smythe
A fox’s journey to take shelter from a rainstorm, told entirely in onomatopoeia.

slrf
The Secret Life of the Red Fox by Laurence Pringle; illustrated by Kate Garchinsky
The life of a red fox is a mystery to most people. You might catch a glimpse of blazing red fur or hear a far-off bard, but the fox‘s daily activities are know to few. Filled with fascinating facts and illuminating details, this nonfiction book invites readers on a yearlong journey with a red fox named Vixen.

sandt
Sniffer and Tinni: A True Tale of Amazing Animal Friendship
by Berit Helberg; photography by Torgeir Berge
A fox and a German Shepherd living in a small Norwegian town become best friends.

Rescue Cats

Did you know that two Fountaindale librarians volunteer at the animal shelter, taking care of cats? Here are some new stories about rescuing and bringing home cats and kittens.

bclc
Big Cat, Little Cat by Elisha Cooper
A moving tale about friendship, new beginnings, and cats.

swan
A Cat Named Swan by Holly Hobbie
After surviving on the streets, a homeless cat discovers the joys of living with a human family.

cbus
Cat on the Bus by Aram Kim
Using onomatopoeia, this almost wordless story tells of a homeless cat who finds shelter on a bus where she meets a cat-loving Asian grandfather.

lnc
Little Night Cat by Sonja Danowski
When Tony, a little boy, bravely offers his stuffed animals–including his favorite toy cat–to the animal shelter to raise money for the needy dogs and cats, it touches his mom’s heart. Later that night when Tony misses his toy, she gives him her old stuffed cat. He embraces it with such care and devotion that his mom rewards him in a way that he never imagines.

lcat
Lola Gets a Cat by Anna McQuinn; illustrated by Rosalind Beardshaw
More than anything Lola would like a cat, but first she must learn how to care for it.

lfc
Lost and Found Cat: The True Story of Kunkush’s Incredible Journey by Doug Kuntz and Amy Shrodes; illustrated by Sue Cornelison
A family of refugees is accidentally separated from, and then reunited with, their pet cat.